Candidate and Potential Candidate Countries

This section provides selected information about EU candidate and potential candidate countries, from the latest accession news to the events and networking initiatives that are shaping future rural development policy.

At present there are five official candidate countries for membership of the EU: Iceland, Montenegro, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Serbia, and Turkey; and three potential candidate countries: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo*. General information on these countries or about their accession processes to the EU, can be found on the specific section of DG ENLARGEMENT website.

Through IPARD (Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance in Rural Development) candidate and potential candidate countries are assisted in the implementation of the acquis concerning the Common Agricultural Policy and the sustainable adaptation of the agricultural sector and rural areas in the candidate country.

Click on the below buttons to access county profiles and relevant information about emerging rural networks, events and initiatives including cooperation with EU countries and other capacity building resources (more detailed information and links will appear directly beneath).

Country profiles

Links to detailed country information from the Europa website (DG Agriculture and Rural Development):

*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo Declaration of Independence.