1. Deutsch
  2. English

Rural Development in Belgium is managed on a decentralised basis by the two main administrative regions of the country through two Rural Development Programmes (RDPs): one for Flanders and one for Wallonia. The RDPs are funded under the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development (EAFRD) and national contributions. The RDPs set out priority approaches and actions to meet the needs of the specific geographical area they cover.

Find relevant information on the Flemish and Walloon RDPs below;

Explore EAFRD-supported projects in Belgium;

Browse through the Belgian Local Action Groups (LAGs).

Rural development funding through the EAFRD is part of a broader framework of European Structural and Investment Funds (ESI Funds), including also Regional Development, Social, Cohesion, and Fisheries Funds. These are managed nationally, by each EU Member State, on the basis of Partnership Agreements, strategic plans outlining the country’s goals and investment priorities. 

Partnership Agreement

RDP information

National Rural Network

NRNs operate in each EU Member State to support and enhance rural development objectives, enable and facilitate exchange and learning between all the partners involved in policy implementation.

The operation of each NRN is supported by a Network Support Unit (NSU) tasked with coordinating thematic and analytic work, facilitating networking and exchange, and communicating the work and voices of the network.

In Belgium, two NRNs operate to enhance the implementation of the Flemish and Walloon RDPs. The two networks are supported by their respective NSUs.

Explore the Flanders and Wallonia sections below for relevant information on and contacts of each NRN.

RDP information

RDP documents
National Rural Network

Contact the Flemish NSU

Vlaams Ruraal Netwerk / Flemish NSU
Koning Albert II-laan 35, bus 40
1030 Brussels
Belgium
Telephone: +32 (0)2 552 77 39

Email: vlaamsruraalnetwerk@vlaanderen.be

Contacts:

Ariane Van Den Steen (Coordinator): ariane.vandensteen@lv.vlaanderen.be
Alexander Spriet: alexander.spriet@lv.vlaanderen.be
Julie Mariën: julie.marien@lv.vlaanderen.be

Managing Authority

Departement Landbouw en Visserij / Department of Agriculture and Fisheries 
Koning Albert II-laan 35, bus 40
1030 Brussels
Belgium
Telephone: 0032(0)2 552 77 29

Email: belinda.cloet@lv.vlaanderen.be

Website: www.vlaanderen.be/landbouw

Paying Agency

Departement Landbouw en Visserij / Department of Agriculture and Fisheries 
Koning Albert II-laan 35, bus 40
1030 Brussels
Belgium
Telephone: 0032(0)2 552 77 43

Email: tim.ampe@lv.vlaanderen.be

Website: www.vlaanderen.be/landbouw

RDP information

RDP documents
National Rural Network

 

Contact the Walloon NSU

Cellule d'animation du Réseau wallon de Développement Rural (Walloon Rural Network Support Unit)
Rue de Liège, 83
B.4357 LIMONT
Belgium
Telephone: +32 19 54 60 51

Email: info@reseau-pwdr.be

Contacts:

Xavier Delmon (Coordinator): x.delmon@reseau-pwdr.be
Emilie Bievez (Administrative and logistic assistance): e.bievez@reseau-pwdr.be
Lorraine Guilleaume (Innovation and social farming projet manager): l.guilleaume@reseau-pwdr.be
Benoît Delaite (Biodiversity projet manager): b.delaite@reseau-pwdr.be
Daniel Wathelet (LEADER/LAGs and Health projet manager): d.wathelet@reseau-pwdr.be
Laurent Turneer (Finances manager): l.turneer@reseau-pwdr.be

Managing Authority

SPW - DIRECTION GENERALE OPERATIONNELLE DE L’AGRICULTURE, DES RESSOURCES NATURELLES ET DE L’ENVIRONNEMENT
Département des politiques européennes et des accords internationaux
Direction des programmes européens (DirPE)
Fax: +32 81.649.455 

Contacts

Anne Dethy (Director): anne.dethy@spw.wallonie.be, +32 81 649 442
Serge Braun (Ancillary): serge.braun@spw.wallonie.be, +32 81.649.688

Websitehttp://agriculture.wallonie.be/

Paying Agency

Organisme Payeur Wallon (OPW)

Fax: +32 81.649.444

Contacts

René Poismans (Director): rene.poismans@spw.wallonie.be, +32 81 649 426
Silviane Caputi (Ancillary): silviane.caputi@spw.wallonie.be, +32 81.649.480

Websitehttp://agriculture.wallonie.be/